top of page
  • .

Dr. Wayne Carbiener "Above and Beyond" Award presented to Dr. Laverne Stewart, Language Arts Teacher

Pictured above, left to right – Jackie Rosswurm (Foundation Board Member), Clinton Austin (Principal at Hilton Head Island Middle School), Haleigh Easter (Special Ed Teacher), Mae Chalk (Assistant Principal), Dr. LaVerne Stewart (District Teacher of the Year), Karen Beltz (Foundation Vice Chair), Jacquie Carbiener and daughter, Jody Dreyer, PLUS lots of excited students!

In November, the Foundation for Educational Excellence was honored to present the Dr. Wayne Carbiener "Above & Beyond" Award to Dr. LaVerne Stewart, a Language Arts Teacher at Hilton Head Island Middle School. The Foundation's award comes with a $1,000 grant to use in her classroom. Dr. Stewart is the 2022 Beaufort County School District Teacher of the Year.

Our award is presented annually to the Teacher of the Year in honor of former Beaufort County Board of Education member and Foundation for Educational Excellence supporter, Dr. Wayne Carbiener. Each year, his family honors his profound commitment to our teachers by awarding the grant, which reflects his commitment and respect for Beaufort County’s public school teachers.


bottom of page