top of page

Foundation Presents Dr. Wayne Carbiener "Above & Beyond" Award to the Teacher of the Year

Recently, The Foundation for Educational Excellence presented the Dr. Wayne Carbiener “Above and Beyond” $1,000 Grant Award to Dr. Megan Deweese, a first-grade educator at Okatie Elementary.

The award is presented annually to the Beaufort County School District’s Teacher of the Year in honor of former Beaufort County Board of Education member and Foundation for Educational Excellence supporter, Dr. Wayne Carbiener. Each year, his family honors his profound commitment to our teachers by awarding the $1,000 grant that reflects his support and admiration for Beaufort County’s public school teachers.

Dr. Deweese will use that grant to do an innovative project or activity with her students.

Pictured LEFT TO RIGHT: is Foundation For Educational Excellence Board Vice Chair - Karen Beltz, Foundation Board Chair - Lisa Carroll, Dr. Megan Deweese and Okatie Elementary School Principal - Jamie Pinckney.


bottom of page