top of page
  • .

New Foundation Board Members Take On the Challenges of a New School Year

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

The Foundation for Educational Excellence started the 2020 -2021 academic year by electing a new Board of Directors, who are already taking on the Foundation mission to seek and sustain county-wide charitable and educational resources that support mission and goals of the public schools of Beaufort County.

Lisa Carroll was elected Foundation Board Chair. Lisa has been an active community supporter in Bluffton and on Hilton Head Island for over 30 years. She is married to her college sweetheart and has two children who successfully graduated from the Bluffton High School. Lisa holds a B.S. degree in Media Communications from Appalachian State University. She has served on the Foundation’s Board of Directors for 3 years and has a history of working with various non-profits. As owner of a local marketing and public relations firm her inventiveness will bring new awareness to the efforts of the Foundation, as well as planning for future growth. As the new Foundation Board Chair, Lisa stated, The Foundation has a significant history of leadership and development as a nonprofit. I hope to share more of their story in the coming year.

Karen Beltz

The Foundation also announced that Karen Beltz has been elected as The Foundation’s Board Vice Chair. Karen has lived in the Lowountry since 1981, and has been an educator for 16 years. She has a B.A. in Art Education from Cardinal Stritch University in Milwaukee. She also has a MEd in Gifted Education from Converse College. Karen says, “I am thrilled to be working with Lisa and such a gifted and experienced group of educators and civic leaders who are passionate about educational opportunities for the children of Beaufort County.”

Other distinguished community leaders have agreed to serve on the board. They include:

John Mosca, Treasurer, Cindy Sturgis, Secretary, Deborah Colella, EdD, Past Chair, Michel Claudio, Christopher (Chris) Epps, Carole T. Ingram, Elizabeth Lee Johnson, PhD, Carol McHugh, Maryanne Rizzi, and Jackie Rosswurm, PhD, Ex Officio.

Cristin Casper, Ex Officio, serves as the Liaison to the Beaufort County School District.

All of the board members agree that that this academic year will look very different for educators and will present many challenges and opportunities. They are prepared to meet these challenges by continuing to support Beaufort County teachers, schools, and students by providing instructional activities and projects that are not typically funded by general school budgets.

The Foundation provides Innovative Teacher Grants, Innovative School Resource Grants, and Student Enrichment Grants. Last school year, they awarded 19 Innovative Teacher and School Resource Grants totaling more than $23,000, which sparked more than 3,800 Beaufort County students to learn new facts and skills that are not funded by regular school budgets.

The Foundation is a 501(c)3 and a fund of Community Foundation of the Lowcountry.


bottom of page